Home  |  Departments  |  Locations & Maps  |  Services  |  Site Features  |  Search  |  Links
Building Picture
curve 1450 E. McKinney St., Denton, TX 76209-4524 * Phone (940)349-2012 * Fax (940)349-2013 Map  
Department Links
* County Clerk Department Home
* Marriage License Information
* Absent Applicant InformationAdobe Acrobat File
* Copies of Marriage Records
Denton County Website

County Clerk


Marriage License Information

Marriage licenses are available at the County Clerk's office in Denton, our satellite office located in the Sandy Jacobs Government Center - Carrollton and the satellite office located in the Steven Everett Copeland Government Center - Cross Roads.

In addition to the locations listed above, you may obtain a marriage license at some of the justices of the peace offices throughout the county, such as: Lewisville, Justice of the Peace Precinct 3; The Colony, Justice of the Peace Precinct 2.

Both applicants must be present to receive the license (few exceptions, as noted in the Statutes). In the State of Texas, a marriage license is valid for ninety (90) days from the day it is issued. However, after the marriage license is issued there is a seventy-two (72) hour waiting period until the license becomes valid. The marriage license may be used anywhere in the State of Texas. A license may not be issued for the marriage of persons of the same sex.

To apply for the marriage license each applicant shall submit:

  • proof of identity and age (Driver's License, State Identification card, or other document issued by this state or another state, United States or a foreign country, or certified copy of applicants birth certificate)
  • Documents establishing parental consent, should the applicant be 16 or 17 years of age.
  • verbalize the oath printed on the application and sign the application before the county clerk.
  • If one applicant cannot appear personally see information on the absent applicant procedures.
  • The fee for a marriage license (without course certificate) is $82.00.

Effective September 1, 2008:

For Couples taking the State-Approved Marriage Class:

  • Procedures for applying for a marriage license remain the same.
  • Course certificate must be able to be verified through the State of Texas on-line by the Clerk's office.
  • 72 hour waiting period is automatically waived.
  • Marriage license fees total $22.00.
  • For more information go to: www.twogetherintexas.com

Affidavit of Absent Applicant  

Marriage Application
: To electronically submit your marriage application please click on this link: https://dentontx.uslandrecords.com/Denton/MarriageApp.aspx Once you submit your marriage application you need to proceed to one of the marriage license issuance offices listed above to complete the application process.

For more information about Marriage Records (please click here)


Home  |  Departments  |  Services  |  Site Features  |  Search
http://dentoncounty.com © 1995-2013 County of Denton, Texas All Right Reserved
Legal Notice
 Privacy Notice Accessibility Notice Labeled with ICRA Contact Us
For web site related problems and suggestions please e-mail the webmaster.