Home  |  Departments  |  Locations & Maps  |  Services  |  Site Features  |  Search  |  Links
Building Picture
curve 110 W. Hickory St., Denton, TX 76201-4168 * Phone (940)349-2820 * Fax (940)349-2821 Map  
Department Links
* Meeting Place and Time Home
* Social Service Agencies
* Volunteering for Service on Boards & Committees
* Aide to the Court
* Cable TV Schedule
* Commissioner Precinct 1
* Commissioner Precinct 2
* Commissioner Precinct 3
* Commissioner Precinct 4
* County Judge
* Economic Development
* Meeting Agendas, Minutes and Videos
* Trip 2008 Projects
* What is Commissioners Court?
Denton County, Texas - Commissioners Court

Commissioners Court


Meeting Agendas, Minutes and Videos

County Judge
Mary Horn

Commissioner Pct. 1
Hugh Coleman

Commissioner Pct. 2
Ron Marchant

Commissioner Pct. 3
Bobbie J. Mitchell

Commissioner Pct. 4
Andy Eads

The Commissioners Court is the general governing body of Denton County. The Court is made up of the County Judge who is elected countywide and presides over the full Court, and the four County Commissioners -- each elected from one of the County's four precincts.

The four County Commissioners have both countywide and precinct responsibilities. Each commissioner is responsible for construction and maintenance of County roads within his or her precinct. Some Commissioners maintain offices both at the Courthouse-On-The-Square and within their precincts. They are responsive to the particular needs of people living within their areas of the County. In Denton County, each member of Commissioners Court serves as a liaison to a particular board or agency of the County.

Despite the name, Commissioners Court is not a judicial court but is the general governing body of the County. Among the major duties of the Court, the Court is to:

  1. Set the tax rate and adopt the County budget;
  2. Appoint County officials and hire personnel;
  3. Fill elective and appointive vacancies;
  4. Establish voting precincts, appoint precinct judges and call County bond elections;
  5. Let contracts and authorize payment of all County bills;
  6. Build and maintain County roads and bridges;
  7. Build, maintain and improve County facilities, including jails;
  8. Provide for veterans assistance;
  9. Manage all County facilities; and
  10. Provide for the data service and archival needs of the County.

The hours of operation are Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm. For more information on obtaining copies of documents filed with the County Clerk's Office, please call 940-349-2010 during regular business hours.

The County Clerk's Office provides support staff for the Denton County Commissioner's Court. The County Clerk is responsible for keeping court minutes and records. These records are kept in the County Clerk's Office on the first floor of the Denton County Courts Building, 1450 E. McKinney Street, Denton.

The Commissioners Court meets at 9:00 a.m., every Tuesday, in the Commissioners Courtroom on the second floor of the Courthouse-On-The-Square, 110 W. Hickory Street, Denton. All meetings are open to the public and citizens are urged to attend.  



Subscribe to Denton County News Email List Service - Receive Denton County news by Email.

Email address:
Your name:

Denton County, Texas, Seal

110 West Hickory Street
Denton, Texas  76201-4168
Phone: (940) 349-2820 (Metro)
Fax : (940) 349-2821 (Metro)



Home  |  Departments  |  Services  |  Site Features  |  Search
http://dentoncounty.com © 1995-2013 County of Denton, Texas All Right Reserved
Legal Notice
 Privacy Notice Accessibility Notice Labeled with ICRA Contact Us
For web site related problems and suggestions please e-mail the webmaster.