The Tax Office is experiencing high call volumes. Our phone bank is working as quickly as possible to assist you. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Please note: Customers may experience increased time to conduct business during lunch periods. Lunch periods range between 11 a.m. and 2 p.m.

Tax Assessor / Collector

Tax Assessor / Collector

Tax Office Wait Times 


Renew Registration: 46 mins
Property Tax: 29 mins
Title Transfers: 46 mins


Renew Registration: 53 mins
Property Tax: 52 mins
Title Transfers: 43 mins

Cross Roads

Renew Registration: 4 mins
Property Tax:
Title Transfers: 0 mins


Renew Registration: 16 mins
Property Tax: 15 mins
Title Transfers: 18 mins

Welcome to the Denton County Tax Office

Tax Assessor and Collector Michelle French

This site is made available as a convenience to our customers. We offer online payment options for property taxes and motor vehicle registration renewals. We hope that you will find this website a useful tool. Please feel free to call us or visit any one of our 5 locations for personal service.

Mission: To ensure that your tax dollars are accurately and efficiently collected with the utmost integrity and honesty.

Goal: To exceed your expectations by ensuring the highest level of service possible using technology, tools and services to assist our taxpayers in transacting business with our office.

Motto: Service With Excellence.

Michelle French
The Tax Assessor/Collector of Denton County


New Resident Services and Title transfers will only be processed between the hours of 8 am and 4 pm Monday thru Friday.

Please make checks payable to Michelle French, Denton County Tax Assessor/Collector.

We also accept:

*** *** FREE e-Check. Credit Card transactions subject to convenience fees up to 2.35% on property tax transactions. Credit Card transactions subject to convenience fee up to 2.7% on motor vehicle transaction.
***Internet property tax accounts are paid pending receipt of funds from financial institution

Main Office-Denton

Mary and Jim Horn Government Center
1505 E. McKinney Street
Denton, TX 76209-4525
Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM

Motor Vehicle

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 90204
Denton, Texas 76202-5204
(940) 349-3510
(972) 434-8810 
(940) 349-3511 (Fax)

Property Tax

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 90223
Denton, Texas 76202-5223
(940) 349-3500
(972) 434-8835
(940) 349-3501 (Fax)

Lewisville Office

Precinct 3 Government Center
400 North Valley Parkway
Suite 1044
Lewisville, Texas 75067-3520 
(940) 349-3510
(972) 434-8810
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM 

Carrollton Office

Sandy Jacob Government Center
1029 West Rosemeade Parkway
Carrollton, Texas 75007-6251
(940) 349-3510 
(972) 434-8810
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM

The Colony Office

The Colony Government Center
6301 Main Street
The Colony, Texas 75056-1634
(940) 349-3510 
(972) 434-8810
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM

Cross Roads Office

Steven E. Copeland Government Center
1400 FM 424
Cross Roads, Texas 76227-7284
(940) 349-3510 
(972) 434-8810
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM